MURALU

Muralu – Street Art Ludwigshafen

Initiated in 2018 by the Wilhelm-Hack-Museum and the online event platform WOW, MURALU is a large-scale street art project in Ludwigshafen. The name derives from the word MURAL and LU (= Ludwigshafen). Along with regional and national street artists, major international representatives of the scene will be invited to create works on selected inner city wall surfaces.
The project opened in 2018 with the renowned American artist Augustine Kofie. From 16 to 23 October 2018, he painted a dynamic mural in his characteristic abstract-geometrical style for which he has become internationally known in the street art scene on the facade of a building on the corner of Rheinalle/Schwanthalerallee in Ludwigshafen’s Luitpold Harbour.
The work in Ludwigshafen is the artist’s first permanent mural in Germany. Graffiti by the Los Angeles-born Kofie, whose works combine influences from street culture, art history and futuristic film design, can also be seen in such major metropolises as Paris, Boston, Marrakech and London.
The realisation of Augustine Kofie’s mural was supported by the Hafenbetriebe Ludwigshafen am Rhein GmbH, which generously also made the building facade available, which is presently used by the Polizeipräsidium Rheinland-Pfalz.
The start of two new projects are already in the works for 2020: The Greek street artist Parisko has collaborated with the Blaqk collective for the purpose of producing a large-format mural for MURALU. Entitled MONEY BOX, it will be realised on the rear of the building of the Sparkasse Vorderpfalz bank in Rheinuferstraße. It is the artist’s first collaboration and the mural combines Pariskos’s abstract lettering with Blaqk’s minimalistic black-and-white aesthetic.
Jef Aérosol is regarded as a pioneer of the French street art scene. The internationally renowned artist achieved recognition in the early 1980s with his life-sized stencil images of cultural icons as well as anonymous persons. For the facade of the Musikschule Ludwigshafen, he is producing an ensemble encompassing people from diverse generations, backgrounds and cultures playing music.
The goal of MURALU is to actively participate in the planning of the urban space by means of artistic interventions for the purpose of reaching diverse sections of the populace as a positive identificational moment. Further projects for 2020 are being planned with TIKA, Anja Roth, LIMOW and SWOON.
The street art project is a part of an exhibition project dealing with the significance of the street in the art of the 20th and 21st centuries to be shown at the Wilhelm-Hack-Museum in the fall of 2021 that will also shed light on the history of graffiti.

Muralu – Street Art Ludwigshafen

Initiiert vom Wilhelm-Hack-Museum und der online Veranstaltungsplattform WOW ist 2018 ein groß angelegtes Street Art-Projekt in Ludwigshafen ins Leben gerufen worden: MURALU. Die Bezeichnung setzt sich aus dem englischen „Mural“ (= Wandgemälde) und „LU“ (=Ludwigshafen) zusammen. Neben regionalen und nationalen Street Art-Künstler*innen werden internationale Größen der Szene eingeladen, ausgewählte innerstädtische Wandflächen zu gestalten.


Den Auftakt machte im Oktober 2018 der US-Amerikaner Augustine Kofie, der an die Fassade eines Gebäudes am Ludwigshafener Luitpoldhafen ein Mural in seinem charakteristischen abstrakt-geometrischen Stil anbrachte.

.

Mit Fassadenfarben und Spraydosen hat der namhafte amerikanische Künstler Augustine Kofie vom 16. bis 23. Oktober 2018 das Gebäude an der Ecke Rheinallee/Schwanthalerallee in dem dynamisch-abstrakten Stil gestaltet, für den er in der Street Art Szene weltbekannt ist.   

Die Ludwigshafener Arbeit ist die erste dauerhafte Wandgestaltung des Künstlers in Deutschland. Graffitis des aus Los Angeles stammenden Kofie, dessen Arbeiten Einflüsse der Straßenkultur, Kunstgeschichte und futuristische Filmdesigns vereinen, sind unter anderem in großen Metropolen wie Paris, Boston, Marrakesch und London zu sehen. 

Die Umsetzung der Wandarbeit Augustine Kofies wurde von der Hafenbetriebe Ludwigshafen am Rhein GmbH unterstützt, die freundlicherweise auch die Fassade des Gebäudes zur Verfügung gestellt hat, welches derzeit vom Polizeipräsidium Rheinland-Pfalz genutzt wird. 

 

Im Frühjahr 2020 gehen gleich zwei neue Projekte an den Start: Der griechische Street Art-Künstler Parisko hat sich mit dem Kollektiv Blaqk zusammengetan, um für MURALU ein großformatiges Wandgemälde mit dem Titel MONEY BOX an der Rückseite des Gebäudes der Sparkasse Vorderpfalz an der Rheinuferstraße zu realisieren. Es ist die erste Zusammenarbeit der Künstler und Das Mural verbindet Pariskos‘ abstrakte Schriftzüge mit der minimalistischen Schwarz-Weiß-Ästhetik von Blaqk.

Jef Aérosol gilt als ein Pionier der französischen Street Art. Der international renommierte Künstler wurde in den frühen 1980er-Jahren mit seinen lebensgroßen Schablonenbildern von kulturellen Ikonen wie auch anonymen Personen berühmt. Für die Fassade der Musikschule Ludwigshafen entsteht ein Ensemble aus musizierenden Menschen unterschiedlicher Generationen, Herkunft und Kulturen.


Das Ziel von MURALU ist es, mit Interventionen im urbanen Raum aktiv an der Stadtgestaltung mitzuwirken und dabei als positives identitätsstiftendes Moment unterschiedlichste Bevölkerungsgruppen zu erreichen. Für 2020 sind weitere Projekte mit TIKA, Anja Roth, LIMOW und SWOON in Planung.
Das Street Art-Projekt ist Teil einer für Herbst 2021 im Wilhelm-Hack-Museum geplanten Ausstellung zur Bedeutung der Straße in der Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts, welche unter anderem auch die Geschichte des Graffitis beleuchten wird.